I wanted a mojito, so I made a mojito, a strawberry-blueberry mojito 

I made myself a mojito yesterday…. It was that kind of week where I actually felt the need to squish up fruit and alcohol together and start the weekend on a good note. Well, that and the giant mint patch that I have growing on my property whispered mojito as I walked by it. (When we first built our house, I broke an important gardening rule and plopped mint right in the ground and totally ignored the fact that it spreads like crazy. Well, guess what, it really does. Maybe I should have listened to my landscaper😉)

My out of control mint patch

So back to my mojito…I don’t drink girlie drinks much. I’m a cheap beer kinda girl (no surprise, right?) But when I do, I go through the trouble and do it right.

I had blueberries and strawberries in the fridge and enough mint to last a lifetime so blueberry strawberry mojito it is!

Get together your fruit, mint, a lime, a light rum, sugar, and seltzer


Smush together fruit, sugar, a little lime juice and mint
Put you mulled fruit in a glass, pour in desired amount of rum (judge this by how many times you had to yell at the kids today) and your seltzer. Garnish with mint and enjoy

And it was REALLY good. We ended up out with friends (I got a sitter!!! I can never find a sitter) and it turned into an awesome Friday night of good food, good friends, and a good buzz😏 I actually forgot I had that amazing mojito and was wondering why I was so giddy after two beers. And then I remembered mid dinner and turned into that annoying mom who shows pictures of her kids all night except I showed pics of my mojito. Like, ‘here’s me and mo at the park’ ‘here he is sitting on the counter’ ‘heres a selfie of us’ Thank god for those kind of friends that you can be yourself around. May we all have them.

Here’s an awkward selfie at 11:30 of my horse avoiding me

The night ended with me feeding my horses in the dark, in heels (well, let’s not lie, I don’t wear heels…but something fancier than normal). They were looking at me weird because I was joking oddly with them. Ya know, totally normal. This happens to everyone, right?

So I’m gonna get my ass outta bed, feed them again, possibly redeem myself in their eyes. Go to baseball and watch my son’s game with some dark ass sunglasses on. And be on my mom game because my husband is headed up to a Red Sox game for a guys day. So bring it on! I can totally handle this and letting loose last night was just what I needed. So do yourself a favor and make one of these AMAZING mojitos because we all deserve it.

Strawberry Blueberry mojito

Makes one cup (no one ever just makes one)

A handful of blueberries

3 strawberries

Half a lime

1 tbs sugar

Desired amount of  light rum (1-2oz) I use Bacardi

4 mint leaves

Plain seltzer

Muddle together fruit, lime juice, mint leaves, and sugar. Add the mulled fruit mix to rum, top with ice seltzer, and finish with a mint garnish. Enjoy!

Categories Eats

2 thoughts on “I wanted a mojito, so I made a mojito, a strawberry-blueberry mojito 

  1. That looks delicious, definitely going to give it a try! (I really like the part about making the amount of rum equal to that of how many times you yelled at the kids. 😜)

    Like

    1. Haha yes! Mine was particularly strong that day 😂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close